Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes
The Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes collaborates with more than 80 countries to ensure growth opportunities from trade and investment, to improve development prospects, and to enable their more effective participation in the global economy.
The Division provides timely, targeted research and analysis, as well as innovative policy recommendations regarding development, trade and investment.
Through its analysis of African economic issues, UNCTAD aims to increase awareness of some of the most critical development problems of the continent, and to promote action at national, regional and international levels to support African development efforts with a view to enhancing the participation of African countries in the world economy.
The Least Developed Countries (LDCs), Land-locked Developing Countries (LLDCs) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS) are recognized by the United Nations as categories that face special problems and, accordingly, need special attention from the international community.
UNCTAD member States also pay special attention to the particular problems faced by "other structurally weak, vulnerable and small economies".
The Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes helps countries within these categories derive the greatest possible benefits from this recognition and make the most effective use of the special international support measures that are extended to them, essentially to reduce their marginalization from the global economy.
Activities of the Division include:
  1. Research and policy-related analysis, notably through the yearly Least Developed Countries Report and Economic Development in Africa Report.
  2. Support for consensus-building on issues of direct interest to countries in Africa and within the recognized categories, principally through expert meetings, and in the context of preparations for international events.
  3. Technical assistance for capacity-building in relevant countries through the Enhanced Integrated Framework (EIF), the LDC Trust Fund, and other existing facilities.

There are no items to show.


Please wait....

Charlie Hebdo