Least Developed Countries (LDCs)

Since 1971, the United Nations has recognized least developed countries (LDCs) as a category of States that are deemed highly disadvantaged in their development process, for structural, historical and also geographical reasons.

LDCs face more than other countries the risk of deeper poverty and remaining in a situation of underdevelopment. More than 75 per cent of the LDCs' population still live in poverty.

These countries are also characterized by their vulnerability to external economic shocks, natural and man-made disasters and communicable diseases. As such, the LDCs are in need of the highest degree of attention from the international community.

Currently, the 47 LDCs comprise around 880 million people, 12 per cent of the world population, which face severe structural impediments to growth. However, the LDCs account for less than 2 per cent of world GDP and around 1 per cent of world trade.

Least Developed Countries  

Four United Nations Conferences on the LDCs were held in: 1981, 1990, 2001 and 2011. The Fourth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries adopted the Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the Decade 2011-2020 - the so-called Istanbul Programme of Action (IPoA).



Goal 7
22 November 2017Progress in least developed countries hinges on access to modern energy
Goal 9
06 November 2017Experts discuss how to build productive capacities in the least developed countries
21 September 2017UNCTAD and the Commonwealth sign cooperation agreement
Goal 14
24 August 2017Fishery exports and Least Developed Countries
SDG 14
09 June 2017A Piece of the Fish Pie: Sharing the Benefits of Fisheries with LDCs and SIDS
Page 1 of 9, items 1 to 5 of 42


 Events and Meetings


 Documents and Publications

Page 27 of 14, items 131 to 66 of 66

Tab Control

Please wait....

Charlie Hebdo