unctad.org | Membership of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development
Membership of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development

The Commission has forty-three Member States elected by ECOSOC for a term of four years. Experts nominated by their respective governments should possess the necessary qualifications and professional or scientific knowledge.

The Commission has:

  • Eleven members from African States
  • Nine members from Asia-Pacific States
  • Eight members from Latin American and Caribbean States
  • Five members from Eastern European States
  • Ten members from Western European and other States

At each session, the Commission elects a new Bureau (a Chairperson and four Vice-Chairpersons) for the next session. The Bureau assumes responsibilities for the forthcoming activities during the inter-sessional period.

(last update: 1 January 2015)


Region Country End of term
Africa Angola 2018
Cameroon 2016
Central African Republic 2016
Côte d'Ivoire 2018
Kenya 2018
Liberia 2016
Mauritania 2018
Mauritius 2018
Nigeria 2016
Uganda 2018
Zambia 2016
Asia-Pacific China 2018
India 2018
Iran (Islamic Republic of) 2018
Japan 2016
Oman 2016
Pakistan 2018
Sri Lanka 2016
Thailand 2018
Turkmenistan 2016
Eastern Europe Bulgaria 2018
Hungary 2016
Latvia 2018
​Poland ​2018
Russian Federation 2016
Latin America and Caribbean Bolivia (Plurinational State of) 2018
Brazil 2016
Chile 2016
Costa Rica 2016
Cuba 2018
Dominican Republic 2018
Mexico 2016
Peru 2018
Western Europe and other states Austria 2016
Canada 2018
Finland 2016
Germany 2016
Portugal 2016
Sweden 2018
Switzerland 2016
Turkey 2018
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 2018
United States of America 2018




Tab Control


Please wait....