Support to SADC: Regional Integration and the Multilateral Trading System
The Project seeks to achieve a coherent approach to regional and multilateral trade negotiations so as to ensure that SADC countries reap the benefits and successfully address the challenges associated with trade in services and parallel negotiations:
  • within the SADC region,
  • between SADC and the EU under the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA),
  • and under the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) of the WTO.
The creation of synergies with other regional groupings is also key as 5 SADC Members States belong to the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) and 7 form part of the Common Market of Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).

European UnionThe project Support to SADC Regional Integration and the Multilateral Trading System is funded by the European Union and implemented with the technical assistance of UNCTAD. The Project implementation will end in December 2007.
EU-SADC cooperation is coordinated by the European Commission Delegation to the Republic of Botswana and to the Southern African Development Community (SADC)

The objective of the Project is to provide technical assistance in institution- and capacity-building to the SADC Secretariat, SADC negotiating machinery and SADC government officials with a view to:
  • strengthening the capacity of the SADC Secretariat and SADC governments in the area of trade policy formulation and negotiations;
  • creating synergies between the different regional groupings (e.g. between SADC and COMESA);
  • supporting regional negotiations; and
  • building a coherent and mutually supportive approach for the SADC region in interregional and multilateral trade negotiations.

Activities under the project include:
  • national training workshops and seminars to build the expertise of the member countries' trade officials,
  • advisory missions to individual SADC governments to assist them in formulating trade policy and developing their negotiating positions;
  • regional meetings, e.g. Trade Negotiating Forum (TNF) for Services;
  • research in priority services sectors, national and regional assessment studies; and
  • papers on issues relevant to SADC regional integration, including working materials and studies to address specific issues and problems identified in the SADC, EPA and GATS negotiations.
These activities are intended to enhance the capacity of SADC countries and the SADC negotiating machinery (the TNF) to design and implement sound trade policies and to undertake services negotiations and enhanced research capacity across the region.

General documents and papers describing the project will be disseminated to a wider public interested in trade in services, regionalism and the WTO GATS negotiations.

The direct beneficiaries of the project are:
  • The 14 SADC member governments, particularly their officials involved in services trade negotiations;
  • The SADC secretariat and its negotiating machinery;
  • Other stakeholders in the region such as the private sector, civil society and academia.

SADC member countries

Afghanistan Angola Madagascar Mozambique
Angola Botswana Malawi Namibia
Angola Congo (Democratic Republic of the) Malawi South Africa
Angola Lesotho Malawi Swaziland
Angola Madagascar Malawi Tanzania
Angola Malawi Malawi Zambia
Angola Mauritius Malawi Zimbabwe


Please wait....

Charlie Hebdo