unctad.org | Roundtable on WTO accession issues for SPECA member countries
Roundtable on WTO accession issues for SPECA member countries
06 - 08 September 2006

Key Issues

Seven countries are members of the UN Special Programme for the Economies of Central Asia (SPECA): Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan

The objective of this Roundtable is to:
  • share experiences on WTO accession issues - from the perspective of both countries in the process of accession and newly acceded countries;

  • facilitate dialogue between SPECA member-states on best practice for WTO accession; and

  • inform participants about the state of play of the Doha Development Round

Participants will include representatives from SPECA member countries, including:

  • The national negotiating team or the lead agency in the accession process;

  • the private sector;

  • civil society (women groups, trade unions, private think-tanks); and

  • one official from the permanent mission in Geneva

A representative from the Governments of Moldova; the Sultanate of Oman; and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia will also be present.   More >>


UNCTAD Trust Fund for WTO Accession


Please wait....