Commission on Science and Technology for Development, ninth session
14 - 19 May 2006

Key Issues

The Commission on Science and Technology for Development decided at its eighth session, that the substantive theme for the inter-sessional period 2005-2006 would be on “Bridging the Technology Gap between and within Nations”, with specific emphasis on multi-stakeholder partnerships not only to bridge the technology gap, but also to prevent it from growing wider.

To contribute to a further understanding of the issues, and to assist the CSTD in its deliberations at its ninth session, the UNCTAD Secretariat convened a panel meeting in Rabat, Morocco, from 10 to 12 November 2005. The findings and recommendations that have emerged from this panel will be considered by the Commission at its ninth session.

The ninth session will examine the extent of the technology gap between and within nations, draw on policy lessons from countries that have successfully moved up the technological ladder and elaborate policy frameworks for developing countries to build up technological capabilities.

During the Session, a panel will be held to discuss the role of CSTD in the UN system-wide follow-up to the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS).

The outcome of the deliberations will be submitted to the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

For further information, please contact:

Mr. Mongi Hamdi, Chief,
Science and Technology,
Policies and Capacity-building Branch,
Division on Investment, Technology and Enterprise Development
T.: 41-22-917-5069



The ninth session of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development is to be held from 15 to 19 May 2006 in Geneva. The Commission will address the substantive theme "Bridging the technology gap between and within nations" and put forward recommendations for consideration and adoption by the Economic and Social Council. The session will open at 10 a.m. on Monday, 15 May, in Room XVIII at the Palais des Nations.

A list of the States members of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) is also attached. Travel fare (not including per diem) is paid by UNCTAD for one representative of each member of the CSTD. International organizations and States members of UNCTAD that are not members of the Commission may attend the session as observers on the understanding that the cost of their attendance will be borne by their authorities.

As indicated in the note verbale, States members of the Commission should contact Mr. Mongi Hamdi in connection with travel entitlements (tel. +41(0)22 917 5069; fax: +41(0)22 917 0122, e-mail:

(p.p. signed)

Supachai Panitchpakdi
Secretary-General of UNCTAD
4 April 2006

States Members of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development

Angola Jamaica
Austria Jordan
Bangladesh Lesotho
Belarus Morocco
Belgium Oman
Bolivia Pakistan
Brazil Paraguay
Chile Peru
China Romania
Democratic Republic of the Congo Russian Federation
Ethiopia Sierra Leone
Gambia Slovakia
Germany Sudan
Greece Switzerland
India Turkey
Iran (Islamic Republic of) United Kingdom
Italy (33)


Please wait....

Charlie Hebdo