unctad.org | Links

The Group of 77 at the United Nations

The Group of 77 (G-77) was established on 15 June 1964 by seventy-seven developing countries signatories of the “Joint Declaration of the Seventy-Seven Countries” issued at the end of the first session of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) in Geneva.
Website: www.g77.org

Intergovernmental Group of Twently-four (G24)

The Intergovernmental Group of Twenty-Four on International Monetary Affairs and Development (G-24) was established in 1971. Its main objective is to concert the position of developing countries on monetary and development finance issues.
Member countries are as follows:
  • Region I (Africa): Algeria, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa and the Democratic Republic of Congo. 

  • Region II (Latin America and the Caribbean): Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela. 

  • Region III (Asia and developing countries of Europe): India, Iran, Lebanon, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka and Syrian Arab Republic.
Website: www.g24.org

Group of Fifteen (G15)

A summit level group of developing countries spanning the globe, the G-15 provides a platform for articulation of common perceptions on the world situation and promotion of economic development through South-South cooperation and North-South dialogue.
Based on the common goal of enhanced growth and prosperity, the G-15 was established by 15 developing countries during the Ninth Non-Aligned Summit in September 1989. It presently has 17 members, comprising of an important cross-section of countries from Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean.
Website: www.g15.org

South Centre

The South Centre is an intergovernmental organization of developing countries established by an Intergovernmental Agreement (Treaty) which came into force on 31 July 1995 with its headquarters in Geneva.
The South Centre has grown out of the work and experience of the South Commission and its follow-up mechanism, and from recognition of the need for enhanced South-South co-operation.
The South Centre is intended to meet the need for analysis of development problems and experience, as well as to provide intellectual and policy support required by developing countries for collective and individual action, particularly in the international arena.

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)

The United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) and its predecessors have helped countries around the world meet their economic, social and environmental challenges for more than 50 years.
DESA’s mission - to promote development for all - reflects a fundamental concern for equity and equality in countries large and small, developed and developing.

United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)

Established in 1947 with its headquarters in Bangkok, Thailand, ESCAP is the regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region.
With a membership of 62 Governments, 58 of which are in the region, and a geographical scope that stretches from Turkey in the west to the Pacific island nation of Kiribati in the east, and from the Russian Federation in the north to New Zealand in the south, ESCAP is the most comprehensive of the United Nations five regional commissions.
Website: www.unescap.org

United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) - Spanish acronym, CEPAL

UN-ECLAC, with its headquarters in Santiago, Chile, is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations.
It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, and reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world.
The promotion of the region's social development was later included among its primary objectives.
Website: www.eclac.org

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UN-ECA)

UN-ECA was established by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (UN) in 1958 as one of the UN's five regional commissions. ECA's mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member States, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.
UN-ECA's dual role as a regional arm of the UN, and a part of the regional institutional landscape in Africa, positions it well to make unique contributions to member States' efforts to address their development challenges. Its strength derives from its role as the only UN agency mandated to operate at the regional and subregional levels to harness resources and bring them to bear on Africa's priorities.
Website: www.uneca.org

United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (UN-ESCWA)

UN-ESCWA, headquartered in Beirut, Lebanon, is one of the five regional commissions under the administrative direction of the United Nations Economic and Social Council. UN-ESCWA promotes economic and social development of Western Asia through regional and subregional cooperation and integration.

Special Unit for South-South Cooperation (SU/SSC)

The Special Unit for South-South Cooperation (SU/SSC) was established by the United Nations General Assembly in 1978. Hosted in UNDP, their primary mandate is to promote, coordinate and support South-South and triangular cooperation on a Global and United Nations system-wide basis.

World Institute for Development Economics Research of the United Nations University (UNU-WIDER)

World Institute for Development Economics Research of the United Nations University (UNU-WIDER) is the first research and training centre of the United Nations University (UNU), established in Helsinki, Finland in 1984. UNU-WIDER undertakes applied research and policy analysis on global development and poverty issues.

United Nations University - Comparative Regional Integration Studies (UNU-CRIS)

The United Nations University - Comparative Regional Integration Studies (UNU-CRIS) is a research and training institute of the United Nations University. UNU-CRIS specialises in studying the processes and consequences of regional integration and cooperation.


Please wait....