

UNITED NATIONS COMMISSION ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FOR DEVELOPMENT

Secretariat: UNCTAD (DTL) Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland
Telex: 41 29 62 UNO CH
Telephone: (41 22) 917 1167 / 917 4171

Telefax: (41 22) 917 0052

E-mail: anne.miroux@unctad.org / dong.wu@unctad.org

Ms. Omobola Johnson Chairperson of the 18th session of the CSTD Federal Minister of Communication Technology Federal Secretariat Complex, Phase I Annex III Shehu Shagari Way, Abuja

Nigeria

AIDE-MÉMOIRE

For delegations participating in the Eighteenth Session of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) at the ministerial level

Opening Session

The Opening Session will start on **Monday 4 May 2015 at 10.00 a.m.** in room XVIII of the Palais des Nations with keynote addresses by invited speakers. Ministers will be seated at the table in front of the podium, in view of the Ministerial Roundtables (see below), which will start immediately after the opening addresses.

Seating Arrangements

Each delegation from member States of the CSTD will have 4 seats, 2 at the table and 2 seats behind. A space will be reserved with free seating for additional participants from member States and for observers from non-member States of the CSTD. Additional space will be reserved for observers from Intergovernmental organizations, civil society and business.

Ministerial Roundtables

Two ministerial roundtables will be held on Monday 4 May 2014. The first one on 'Managing the transition from the Millennium Development Goals to the Sustainable Development Goals: the role of Science, Technology and Innovation', will take place in the morning after the opening addresses at 11:00 a.m., and the second one on 'Review of the progress made in the implementation of World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) outcomes', will be held in the afternoon at 3:00 p.m. Please note that both of the roundtables will be interactive with questions and answers. In order to allow as much time as possible for interaction, ministers are kindly requested to time their interventions to a maximum of seven minutes.

Reception

The first day will conclude with a reception that will be hosted by the CSTD secretariat from 6:00 p.m onwards at the Restaurant des Délégués, 8th Floor, Palais des Nations. Your presence in this reception would be highly appreciated.

Badging

a) Badge for ministers and their entourage

For delegations participating at ministerial level, a non-photo badge for the Minister and their entourage will be available. These non-photo badges will be issued by the UNOG Security Identification Unit at Pregny Gate (opposite the ICRC building) in advance and can be retrieved from UNOG Security Identification Unit at Pregny on Friday the 1st of May from 14:00 to 17:00 hours. A copy of the registration form of each delegate must be presented to the Pregny Gate security in order to be able to collect the badges.

b) Access with the normal mission badges

Members of the permanent Missions can enter the UNOG premises and the plenary room with their Mission badges.

Protocol

No special protocol measures shall apply for ministers during the eighteenth session of the CSTD. If a delegation is in need of a small meeting room for bilateral meetings, requests should be addressed to the CSTD secretariat (stdev@unctad.org).

Security

The overall level of security will be defined by UNOG Security and Safety Section.