Geographical location
The occupied Palestinian territory (oPt) of the West Bank and Gaza Strip lies on the western edge of the Asian continent and the eastern side of the Mediterranean Sea. It is small in area, covering 6,170 square kilometres, constituting about 23 per cent of the area of the pre-1948 British Mandate.
The West Bank is 5,800 square kilometres, and is bordered to the west and north by the 1949 Armistice line with Israel and to the east by Jordan.
It is divided into three main Governorates with eight sub-districts:
  1. the northern Governorates of Jenin, Tulkarem, and Nablus;
  2. the central Governorates of Jerusalem, Jericho, Ramallah and Bethlehem; and
  3. the southern Governorate of Hebron.
The Gaza Strip covers 365 square kilometres and borders Israel to the north and east, Egypt to the south, and the Mediterranean Sea to the west. It is divided into three Governorates, including Northern Gaza, Central Gaza and Southern Gaza.


Tab Control

Please wait....