unctad.org | New Publication: Economic Development in Africa Report 2019
MEDIA ALERT
For use of information media - Not an official record
New Publication: Economic Development in Africa Report 2019
Made in Africa: Rules of Origin for Enhanced Intra-African Trade

Geneva, Switzerland, (26 June 2019) -

EMBARGO

The contents of this document and the related report must not be quoted or summarized in the print, broadcast or electronic media before 26 June 2019, 17:00 GMT (13:00 New York, 19:00 Geneva, 20:00 Nairobi, 12:00 noon Mexico, 22:30 Delhi, 02:00 – 27 June Tokyo)

-----------------------------------------------------

Geneva, 18 June 2019 – Rules of origin could be a game changer for Africa and enable the African Continental Free Trade Area to catalyse the continent’s regional integration by generating significant gains.

Rules of origin are a “passport” enabling goods to circulate duty-free within a free trade area if those goods qualify as originating within the area. They are therefore one of the cornerstones for boosting trade on the continent.

UNCTAD estimates that the gross domestic product of most African countries could increase by up to 3% once all tariffs are eliminated, if rules of origin are made simple and business friendly.

Details of press conferences are available on the UNCTAD website.

Journalists with access to the UNCTAD virtual newsroom may download press releases and summaries of UNCTAD reports.

Access to the virtual newsroom requires a password. To obtain one, please fill out the form online.

After the embargo is lifted, documents related to the report will be available on the main UNCTAD website.

For further information or to request for interviews with UNCTAD experts, please contact the UNCTAD Press Office (+41 22 917 5549/8033/5828, unctadpress@unctad.org).


Loading..

Please wait....