CONFÉRENCE DES NATIONS UNIES SUR LE COMMERCE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT



UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT

DTL/STICT/MISC/2013/1 (13/37ams)

NOTIFICATION

Commission on Science and Technology for Development

Geneva, 3–7 June 2013

The sixteenth session of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development will be held in Geneva from 3 to 7 June 2013. The Commission will address two of its priority themes, namely: (a) Science, technology and innovation for sustainable cities and peri-urban communities; (b) Internet broadband for an inclusive digital society.

The Commission will also review the progress made in the implementation of the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS).

In addition, the Commission will hear presentations on national science, technology and innovation policy reviews.

The participants will include representatives of Governments, civil society, the private sector and international organizations.

The session will open at 10 a.m. on Monday, 3 June 2013, in room XVIII of the Palais des Nations. The first day will consist of an opening ceremony and two ministerial round tables: one entitled "Review of progress made in the implementation of WSIS outcomes", held in the morning, and another entitled "Harnessing science and technology to address development challenges", held in the afternoon.

The text of the related note verbale dispatched from New York by the Secretary-General of the United Nations is attached for your information.

A list of the States members of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development is attached. Travel expenses (but not per diem) are paid by UNCTAD for one representative of each member of the Commission. International organizations and States members of UNCTAD that are not members of the Commission may attend the session as observers on the understanding that the cost of their attendance will be borne by their authorities. Participants are requested to inform the UNCTAD secretariat before **6 May 2013** of the composition of their delegations and the name of the focal point for the session, so that the necessary arrangements for each delegation's participation can be made.

Any questions about the preparations for the sixteenth session of the Commission should be addressed to Ms. Anne Miroux, Director, Division on Technology and Logistics, and Head of the CSTD Secretariat, UNCTAD: tel.: +41 (0)22 917 1167; fax: +41 (0)22 917 0052; e-mail: anne.miroux@unctad.org and Ms. Padmashree Gehl Sampath, Chief, Science and Technology Section padmashree.gehl.sampath@unctad.org.

(p.p. signed)

Supachai Panitchpakdi Secretary-General of UNCTAD

11 April 2013

States members of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development

Members	Term expires on 31 December
1. Austria	2016
2. Brazil	2016
3. Bulgaria	2014
4. Cameroon	2016
5. Central African Republic	2016
6. Chile	2016
7. China	2014
8. Costa Rica	2016
9. Cuba	2014
10. Dominican Republic	2014
11. El Salvador	2014
12. Finland	2016
13. France	2014
14. Germany	2016
15. Hungary	2014
16. India	2014
17. Iran (Islamic Republic of)	2014
18. Japan	2016
19. Latvia	2014
20. Lesotho	2014
21. Liberia	2016
22. Malta	2014
23. Mauritius	2014
24. Mexico	2016
25. Nigeria	2016
26. Oman	2016
27. Peru	2014
28. Philippines	2014
29. Portugal	2016
30. Russian Federation	2016
31. Rwanda	2014
32. Saudi Arabia	2014
33. Sri Lanka	2016
34. Sweden	2014
35. Switzerland	2016
36. Togo	2014
37. Tunisia	2014
38. Turkey	2014
39. United Republic of Tanzania	2014
40. United States of America	2014
41. Zambia	2016