



NOTIFICATION

UN CSTD Multi-Stakeholder Working Group on Data Governance at All Levels

Thursday and Friday, 1-2 May 2025 Room XXIII, Palais des Nations, Geneva

The first meeting of the Multi-Stakeholder Working Group on Data Governance at All Levels of the United Nations Commission on Science and Technology for Development will be held in hybrid format from 1 to 2 May 2025 in room XXIII of the Palais des Nations, Geneva. It will commence at 10.00 a.m.

Background and purpose of the meeting

Pursuant to <u>UN GA Resolution 79/1</u> which requests the United Nations Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) to establish a multi-stakeholder working group on data governance at all levels as relevant for development and on the basis of the consultations undertaken in this context, the CSTD Bureau decided on 17 March 2025 that the UN CSTD Multi-Stakeholder Working Group on Data Governance at All Levels will comprise 27 State members and 27 non-State members. The composition of the Working Group is provided in the attached annex.

This meeting of the Working Group is the first in a series aimed at preparing the progress report for the 81st session of the United Nations General Assembly in 2026. The main objectives of the meeting are to determine the Working Group's agenda and methods of work, discuss the tasks outlined in the Global Digital Compact, and agree on topics and dates for subsequent meetings.

The meeting will also confirm the selection of a vice-chair representing governmental stakeholders and another vice-chair representing non-governmental stakeholders.

Member States of the United Nations that are not members of the Working Group may attend the meeting as observers. The meeting is likewise open to representatives of academia, business, civil society, the technical community, international organizations and other non-governmental stakeholder groups.

Participation and nominations

All participants, whether attending the meeting remotely or physically, must register online via this <u>link</u>. Nominations and any other correspondence regarding representation at the meeting should be sent to the Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) Secretariat. Please contact <u>cstd-datagov@un.org</u>, should you have any questions. The working language of the meeting is English. Interpretation into other UN official languages will not be available. Participants are expected to cover their own costs for attending the meeting physically.



Logistics

Upon approval of the registration, participants who will attend the meeting remotely will receive a Webex link. Those who will attend the meeting in presence will receive a digital badge consisting of their photo, a quick response (QR) code and the name and date of the meeting. It should be downloaded to a mobile telephone or other mobile device. Participants may also print the digital badge to use the QR code.

Before entering the Palais des Nations, participants are requested to scan their badges at the United Nations Security Service, Pregny Gate entrance, 14 avenue de la Paix. The Security Service is open from 8:00 to 17:00.

Because of the security measures in force, participants are strongly advised to arrive before 9:30 a.m. to complete entry procedures in good time and proceed to the meeting in Building E of the Palais. Participants are requested to carry a passport or similar national identity card with them.

Taxis are not allowed to enter the grounds of the Palais des Nations. Visitors should therefore be dropped off at the indicated entrance gates. Furthermore, luggage may not be brought into the buildings unless the Security Service gives special clearance.

The meeting will be held in Room XXIII situated on the 1st floor of the E Building. It takes around 5 minutes to walk from the Pregny Gate entrance to the meeting room. For reference, please refer to the map of the Palais des Nations.

ANNEX

Multi-Stakeholder Working Group on Data Governance at All Levels

Note on Membership

Member States

African Regional Group

- Burkina Faso
- Cameroon
- Djibouti
- Egypt
- Republic of the Gambia
- Rwanda
- United Republic of Tanzania

Asia-Pacific Regional Group

- China
- India
- Indonesia
- Japan
- Oman
- Philippines

Eastern European Regional Group

- Estonia
- Hungary
- Romania

Latin America and Caribbean Regional Group

- Brazil
- Cuba
- Ecuador
- Peru
- [Vacant]

Western Europe and Other States Regional Group

- Austria
- Canada
- Finland
- Germany
- Switzerland
- United States of America

Non-Governmental Stakeholders

Representatives from academia

- Ms. Aija E. Leiponen, Cornell University
- Ms. Alice E. Marwick, Data and Society Research Institute
- Mr. Christian Peukert, University of Lausanne
- Ms. Linnet Taylor, Tilburg University

- Mr. Luis Felipe Alvarez León, Dartmouth College
- Ms. Wendy Hall, University of Southampton
- Mr. Xuegi Cheng, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Representatives from the business community

- Mr. Alejandro Saucedo, Zalando
- Mr. Anthony Wong, AGW
- Mr. Ashutosh Chadha, Microsoft
- Mr. Enrique Mesones, APESOFT
- Mr. Hongyu Fu, Alibaba
- Mr. Luka Safonov, Weblock
- Mr. Nick Ashton-Hart, APCO Worldwide
- Ms. Timea Suto, ICC

Representatives from civil society

- Ms. Anita Gurumurthy, IT for Change
- Ms. Claire Melamed, Global Partnership for Sustainable Development Data
- Ms. Linda Bonyo, Lawyers Hub Africa
- Ms. Lorrayne Porciuncula, Datasphere Initiative
- Mr. Mohamed Sayed Mohamed Farahat, African Digital Rights Network
- Ms. Natalia Carfi, Open Data Charter
- Ms. Renata Ávila, Open Knowledge Foundation
- Mr. Talla Ndiaye, Digital Impact Alliance

Representatives from the technical community

- Ms. Anja Kaspersen, IEEE
- Mr. Carl Gahnberg, ISOC
- Ms. Reyna Jenkyns, World Data System
- Mr. Tom Crick, ACM

Representatives from the intergovernmental and international organizations

- African Union Commission (AUC)
- Caribbean Community (CARICOM)
- Commonwealth of Nations
- Council of Europe (CoE)
- **European Commission**
- Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)
- International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
- International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
- Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
- United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
- United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
- United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UN ECLAC)
- United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN ESCAP)
- United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
- United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
- United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR)
- United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF)
- United Nations Office for Digital and Emerging Technologies (ODET)
- United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR)
- United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA)
- United Nations Statistical Commission (StatCom)

- United Nations University (UNU)
- World Bank
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
 World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
 World Trade Organization (WTO)