Working Group on Enhanced Cooperation

Note on membership

Pursuant to UN GA resolution 70/125 which requests the Chair of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development through the Economic and Social Council, to establish a working group to develop recommendations on how to further implement enhanced cooperation and on the basis of the notes dated the 26 January 2016 and 3 March 2016 and the consultations undertaken in this context, the Chair of the CSTD hereby decides that the Working Group on Enhanced Cooperation will be composed of:

Member States

African Regional Group

- 1. Central African Republic
- 2. Republic of Kenya
- 3. Republic of Liberia
- 4. Tunisia (host of the World Summit on Information Society)
- 5. Republic of Zambia

Asia-Pacific Regional Group

- 1. India
- 2. Iran (Islamic Republic of)
- 3. Japan
- 4. Pakistan

Eastern Europe Regional Group

- 1. Bulgaria
- 2. Hungary
- 3. Poland
- 4. Russian Federation

Latin America and Caribbean Regional Group

- 1. Brazil
- 2. Cuba
- 3. Mexico
- 4. Peru

Western Europe and Other States Regional Group

- 1. Canada
- 2. Switzerland (host of the World Summit on Information Society)
- 3. Turkey
- 4. United Kingdom

5. United States of America

The Chair also invites the following stakeholders to interactively participate in the Working Group:

Representatives from the business community

- 1. Mr. Jimson Olufuye, Africa Information & Communication Technologies Alliance (AfICTA)
- 2. Mr. Lorenzo Sastre, Asociación Interamericana de Empresas de Telecomunicaciones (ASIET)
- 3. Ms. Timea Suto, ICC Business Action to Support the Information Society (ICC BASIS)
- 4. Mr. Makoto Yokozawa, Japan Information Technology Service Industry Association (JISA)
- 5. Ms. Marilyn Cade, CEO of mCADE

Representatives from civil society

- 1. Anriette Esterhuysen, Executive Director, Association for Progressive Communications (APC)
- 2. Parminder Singh, Executive Director, IT for Change
- 3. Lea Kaspar, Global Partners Digital
- 4. Carlos Afonso, Executive Director, NUPEF Institute
- 5. Richard Hill, Association for Proper Internet Governance (APIG)

Representatives from the technical community and academia

- 1. Mr. Nick ASHTON-HART, Consultant in international Internet related public policy and Associate Fellow, Geneva Centre for Security Policy
- 2. Ms Constance BOMMELAER, Senior Director, Global Internet Policy, the Internet Society
- 3. Mr. Nigel HICKSON, Vice-president, UN and NGO Engagement, ICANN
- 4. Dr. Janvier NGNOULAYE, ICT Teacher, IT Manager & Consultant, University of Yaoundé
- 5. Dr. Jovan Kurbalija, Director DiploFOundation

Representatives from the intergovernmental and international organizations

- 1. European Union
- 2. International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
- 3. United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (UNESCWA)
- 4. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
- 5. United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UNHABITAT)

Geneva, 2 May 2016

Peter Major Chair, CSTD