CONFÉRENCE DES NATIONS UNIES SUR LE COMMERCE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT



UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT

Intergovernmental Group of Experts on Consumer Protection Law and Policy 6th Session, 18 – 19 July 2022, Geneva, Switzerland and online

Report of the working groups on consumer product safety, consumer protection in electronic commerce and modalities of UNCTAD voluntary peer reviews of competition and consumer protection

Monday, 18 July 2022 (15:00 - 15:30) Palais des Nations, Room XVII (First Floor) and online

The Intergovernmental Group of Experts on Consumer Protection Law and Policy, in its fifth session¹ renewed the mandate of the working groups on <u>Consumer Protection in</u> <u>E-commerce</u>, on <u>Consumer Product Safety</u> and on <u>Modalities of UNCTAD voluntary</u> <u>peer review exercises</u>.

The UNCTAD secretariat will report on the developments of these working groups. The Intergovernmental group of experts will be asked to discuss and decide on their future mandates.

¹ TD/B/C.I/CPLP/26

Report of the working groups on consumer product safety, consumer protection in electronic commerce and modalities of UNCTAD voluntary peer reviews of competition and consumer protection

Monday, 18 July 2022 (15:00 - 15:30) Palais des Nations, Room XVII (First Floor) and online

WORK PROGRAMME

- 15:00 15:05 **Presentation by the UNCTAD secretariat:** Working Group on Consumer product safety
- 15:05 15:10 Interactive debate
- 15:10 15:15 **Presentation by the UNCTAD secretariat:** Working Group on Consumer protection in electronic commerce
- 15:15 15:20 Interactive debate
- 15:20 15:25 **Presentation by the UNCTAD secretariat:** Working Group on Modalities of UNCTAD voluntary peer review exercises
- 15:25 15:30 Interactive debate

Delegates wishing to speak during the session are invited to inform the UNCTAD secretariat accordingly by contacting Ms. Ana Cipriano (<u>ana.cipriano@unctad.org</u>), Ms. Elizabeth Gachuiri (<u>elizabeth.gachuiri@unctad.org</u>), Mr. Yves Kenfack (<u>yves.kenfack@unctad.org</u>), Ms. Hyejong Kwon (<u>hyejong.kwon@unctad.org</u>), and Mr. Arnau Izaguerri (<u>arnau.izaguerri@unctad.org</u>).