

Programme

04 November 2024, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (CET) Room XXII, Palais des Nations, Geneva

Monday, 04 November

10 a.m.-10.10 a.m. Op

Opening Remarks

Ms. Luz Maria de la Mora, Director of International Trade and commodities (DITC), UNCTAD

10.10 a.m.-10.20

Introduction

Ms. Teresa Moreira, Head, Competition and Consumer Policies Branch (CCPB), UNCTAD

10.20 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Principles for a resolution on general product safety

Panelists will deliver 5 minute presentations on key aspects of the draft Resolution on General Product Safety, followed by in-depth discussions. This session will provide a platform for expert insights and collaborative dialogue on shaping the future of global consumer product safety standards

Mr. Fernando Blanco Muiño, Deputy Secretary for Consumer Defense, Argentina

Mr. Marcio Andre Oliveira Brito, President National Institute of Metrology, Standardization and Industrial Quality – INMETRO, Brazil

Mr. Brian Lingela, Executive Director, Competition and Consumer Protection Commission, Zambia

Ms. Pinuccia Contino, Deputy Director for Consumers and Head of Unit for Product Safety and Rapid Alert System, Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers, European Commission

3 p.m.- 4.30 p.m.

International institutional arrangements

This interactive panel on the proposed Resolution on General Product Safety will explore the international institutional arrangements required to enhance global cooperation on consumer product safety. Panelists will discuss critical aspects, including the type of institutional framework needed to implement the resolution, its crucial functions, and the challenges to consider when establishing these structures. The panel seeks to provide insights into building effective mechanisms for international collaboration, ultimately contributing to safer markets worldwide.

Ms. Thezi Mabuza, Deputy Commissioner, National Consumer Commission, South Africa

Ms. María Emma Fernández Girón, Legal Officer, Legal Department of the Consumer Protection Office, El Salvador

Ms. Yvonne Stein, Deputy Director, Consumer Policy Division, Ministry of Finance, Sweden

Ms. Dr. Wimonrat Wim Teriyapirom, Director of the International Cooperation Section, Office of the Consumer Protection Board, Thailand

Ms. Brigitte Acoca, Head of Consumer Policy Unit, Committee on Consumer Policy, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, OECD

4.30 p.m. – 5.40 p.m.

Interactive debate

5.40 p.m.-6 p.m.

Conclusions and way forward

 $\label{eq:ms.Teresa} \mbox{Moreira, Head, Competition and Consumer Policies Branch, } \mbox{UNCTAD}$