

Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD)

Nineteenth session 9-13 May 2016

Room XVIII, Floor 1, E Building Palais des Nations

Provisional Organization of Work (as of 6 May 2016)

For queries or clarifications, please contact:

Mr Angel Gonzalez-Sanz, Chief, Science, Technology and ICT Branch, Division on Technology and Logistics, UNCTAD

Ms. Dong Wu, Chief, Science and Technology Section, Division on Technology and Logistics, UNCTAD (Email: stdev@unctad.org; Tel: +41 22 917 20 83)

Monday, 9 May

10:00- 11:00	Opening Ceremony
11:00	Welcoming remarks by: Mr. Peter Major, Chair of the CSTD Opening statement by: Mr. Joakim Reiter, Deputy Secretary-General of UNCTAD
	Address by:
	Mr. Gordon McBean, President, International Council for Science (ICSU) Mr. Houlin Zhao, Secretary General, International Telecommunication Union
	Item 1 Adoption of the agenda and other organizational matters
11:00- 13:00	Item 3 Science and technology for development
	Contribution of the Commission to the 2016 theme of the Economic and Social Council
	High-level roundtable on "Implementing the post-2015 development agenda: moving from commitments to results"
	Interactive discussion
15:00-	Item 2
18:00	Progress made in the implementation of and follow-up to the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) outcomes at the regional and international levels
	Introduction of the Report of the Secretary-General by Mr. Angel Gonzalez Sanz, Chief, Science, Technology and ICT Branch, Division on Technology and Logistics, UNCTAD
	High-level roundtable on "Review of progress made in the implementation of World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) outcomes"
	Interactive discussion

Tuesday, 10 May

10:00-	Item 2
13:00	Progress made in the implementation of and follow-up to WSIS outcomes at the
	regional and international levels: Relationship between WSIS and SDGs
	Introductory remarks by:
	Mr. Peter Major, Chair of the nineteenth session of the CSTD
	Presentations by:
	 Mr. David Souter, Managing Director, ict Development Associates
	Ms. Helani Galpaya, CEO, LIRNEasia
	Ms. Nibal Idlebi, Chief of Innovation Section, Technology for Development
	 Division, ESCWA Mr. Markus Kummer, ICANN Board member
	 Mr. William Drake, International Fellow in the Media Change and Innovation
	Division, Institute of Mass Communication and Media Research, University of
	Zurich
	 Ms. Anriette Esterhuysen, Executive Director, Association for Progressive Communications
	General discussion
15:00-	Item 4
18:00	Presentation of reports on science, technology and innovation policy reviews
	Presentations by UNCTAD Secretariat on ongoing STIP reviews (Iran, Rwanda) and
	related secretariat work
	General discussion

Wednesday, 11 May

10:00- 13:00	Item 3 Science and technology for development
13.00	
	Panel on Priority theme 1: Smart cities and infrastructure
	Introduction of the Report of the Secretary-General on priority theme 1 by Ms. Dong Wu, Chief, Science and Technology Section, Science, Technology and ICT Branch, Division on Technology and Logistics, UNCTAD
	 Presentations by: Mr. Martin Ssekajja, Deputy Director ICT,Kampala Capital City Authority Ms. Brenna Berman, Commissioner and Chief Information Officer, Department of Innovation & Technology, City of Chicago Ms. Ayona Datta, Senior Lecturer, School of Geography, University of Leeds Mr. Kelvin Campbell, Co-founder, Smart Urbanism Limited and Visiting Professor, The Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis, University College London
	General discussion
15:00- 18:00	Item 3 Science and technology for development
	Panel on Priority theme 2: Foresight for digital development
	Panel on Phonty theme 2.1 dresignt for digital development
	Introduction of the Report of the Secretary-General on priority theme 2 by Mr. Angel Gonzalez Sanz, Chief, Science, Technology and ICT Branch, Division on Technology and Logistics, UNCTAD
	Moderator: Mr. David Souter, Managing Director, ict Development Associates
	Presentations by:
	 Mr. Martin Hilbert, Assistant Professor, UC Davis Mr. Antoine Bagula, Associate Professor, University of Western Cape, South Africa Mr. Ernst Ekkehard, Chief of Macro Policy Unit, Research Department,
	 International Labour Organization Ms. Kanchana Kanchanasut, Director Internet Education and Research Laboratory at the Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Thailand (video message)
	General discussion

Thursday, 12 May

10:00- 13:00	Informal consultations on draft proposals
15:00- 15:30	Progress report by the facilitators of draft proposals
15:00- 18:00	Informal consultations on draft proposals - continued

Friday, 13 May

10:00- 13:00	 Item 5 Election of the Chair and other officers for the twentieth session of the Commission Item 6 Provisional agenda and documentation for the twentieth session of the Commission Adoption of the draft provisional agenda of the twentieth session
15:00- 18:00	 Item 7 Adoption of the report of the Commission on its nineteenth session Adoption of the draft report Closure of the session