CONFÉRENCE DES NATIONS UNIES SUR LE COMMERCE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT



UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT

DTL/STICT/MISC/2014/3 (14/26gd)

NOTIFICATION

Commission on Science and Technology for Development Geneva, 12–16 May 2014

The seventeenth session of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development will be held in Geneva from 12 to 16 May 2014. The Commission will address two of its priority themes within the framework of its multi-year work programme, namely (a) science, technology and innovation for the post–2015 development agenda, and (b) information and communications technologies for inclusive social and economic development.

The Commission will also review the progress made in the implementation of the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), and, in addition, will hear presentations on national science, technology and innovation policy reviews. The participants will include representatives of Governments, civil society, the private sector and international organizations.

The session will open at 10 a.m. on Monday, 12 May 2014, in room XVIII of the Palais des Nations. The first day will consist of an opening ceremony and two ministerial round tables: one entitled "Review of progress made in the implementation of WSIS outcomes", held in the morning, and another entitled "Science, technology and innovation for the post–2015 development agenda", held in the afternoon.

The text of the related note verbale dispatched from New York by the Secretary-General of the United Nations is attached for your information.

A list of the member States of the Commission is attached. Travel expenses (but not per day) are paid by UNCTAD for one representative of each member of the Commission. International organizations and member States of UNCTAD that are not members of the Commission may attend the session as observers on the understanding that the cost of their attendance will be borne by their authorities. Please inform the secretariat before **7 April 2014** of the composition of your delegation and the name of the focal point for the session, so that the necessary arrangements for their participation can be made.

Any questions about the preparations for the seventeenth session of the Commission should be addressed to Ms. Anne Miroux, Director of the Division on Technology and Logistics and Head of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development secretariat, tel.: +41 22 917 1167; fax: +41 22 917 0052; e-mail: anne.miroux@unctad.org, and Ms. Padmashree Gehl Sampath, Chief, Science and Technology Section, UNCTAD, tel.: +41 22 917 4446; fax: +41 22 917 0052; e-mail: padmashree.gehl.sampath@unctad.org.

(signed)

Mukhisa Kituyi Secretary-General of UNCTAD 26 March 2014

Member States of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development

	Members	Term expires on 31 December
1.	Austria	2016
2.	Brazil	2016
3.	Bulgaria	2014
4.	Cameroon	2016
5.	Central African Republic	2016
6.	Chile	2016
7.	China	2014
8.	Costa Rica	2016
9.	Cuba	2014
10.	Dominican Republic	2014
11.	El Salvador	2014
12.	Finland	2016
13.	France	2014
14.	Germany	2016
15.	Hungary	2014
16.	India	2014
17.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	2014
18.	Japan	2016
19.	Latvia	2014
20.	Lesotho	2014
21.	Liberia	2016
22.	Malta	2014
23.	Mauritius	2014
24.	Mexico	2016
25.	Nigeria	2016
26.	Oman	2016
27.	Peru	2014
28.	Philippines	2014
29.	Portugal	2016
	Russian Federation	2016
	Rwanda	2014
	Saudi Arabia	2014
	Sri Lanka	2016
34.	Sweden	2014
35.	Switzerland	2016
36.	Togo	2014
37.	Tunisia	2014
	Turkey	2014
	United Republic of Tanzania	2014
	United States of America	2014
41.	Zambia	2016