CONFÉRENCE DES NATIONS UNIES SUR LE COMMERCE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT



UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT

DTL/STICT/MISC/2016/1 (16/15ams)

NOTIFICATION

Commission on Science and Technology for Development

Geneva, 9-13 May 2016

The nineteenth session of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development will be held in Geneva from 9 to 13 May 2016. The Commission will address two of its priority themes, namely (a) smart cities and infrastructure and (b) foresight for digital development.

The nineteenth session will review the progress made in the implementation of the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS). In addition, the Commission will hear presentations on national science, technology and innovation policy reviews. The participants will include representatives of Governments, civil society, the private sector and international organizations.

The session will open at 10 a.m. on Monday, 9 May 2016, in room XVIII of the Palais des Nations. The first day will consist of an opening ceremony and two ministerial round tables, one entitled "Implementing the post-2015 development agenda: Moving from commitments to results", to be held in the morning, and another entitled "Review of progress made in the implementation of WSIS outcomes", to be held in the afternoon.

The text of the related note verbale dispatched from New York by the Secretary-General of the United Nations is attached for your information.

A list of the member States of the Commission is attached. Travel expenses (but not per diem) are paid by UNCTAD for one representative of each member of the Commission. International organizations and member States of UNCTAD that are not members of the Commission may attend the session as observers on the understanding that the cost of their attendance will be borne by their authorities. Please inform the secretariat before **8** April 2016 of the composition of your delegation and the name of the focal point for the session, so that the necessary arrangements for their participation can be made.

Nominations and participation

Registration should be completed online. To do so, please use the following link: Commission on Science and Technology for Development. Nominations and related communications concerning representation at the meeting should be sent to the UNCTAD secretariat, Science and Technology Section, Palais des Nations, CH-1211 Geneva 10; fax: 41 22 917 0052; e-mail: stdev@unctad.org.

Logistics

Before entering the Palais des Nations, participants are requested to collect their badges at the United Nations Security Service, Prégny Gate entrance, 14 avenue de la Paix. The Security Service is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Because of the security measures in force, participants are strongly advised to arrive before 9 a.m. to complete entry procedures in good time and proceed to the meeting in Building E of the Palais. Participants are requested to carry a passport or similar national identity card. Taxis are not allowed to enter the grounds of the Palais des Nations; visitors will therefore be dropped off at the entrance gates. Furthermore, luggage may not be brought into the buildings unless the Security Service grants special clearance.

Further information and contact details

Any questions about the preparations for the nineteenth session of the Commission should be addressed to Mr. Taffere Tesfachew, Acting Director, Division on Technology and Logistics, and Director, Division on Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes, and Ms. Dong Wu, Chief, Science and Technology Section, Division on Technology and Logistics, e-mail: stdev@unctad.org; tel.: 41 22 917 4171; fax: 41 22 917 0052.

(signed)

Mukhisa Kituyi Secretary-General of UNCTAD 16 March 2016

Members		Term expires on 31 December
1.	Angola	2018
2.	Austria	2016
3.	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)	2018
4.	Brazil	2016
5.	Bulgaria	2018
6.	Cameroon	2016
7.	Canada	2018
8.	Central African Republic	2016
9.	Chile	2016
10.	China	2018
11.	Costa Rica	2016
12.	Côte d'Ivoire	2018
13.	Cuba	2018
14.	Dominican Republic	2018
15.	Finland	2016
16.	Germany	2016
17.	Hungary	2016
18.	India	2018
19.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	2018
20.	Japan	2016
21.	Kenya	2018
22.	Latvia	2018
23.	Liberia	2016
24.	Mauritania	2018
25.	Mauritius	2018
26.	Mexico	2016
27.	Nigeria	2016
28.	Oman	2016
29.	Pakistan	2018
30.	Peru	2018
31.	Poland	2018
32.	Portugal	2016
33.	Russian Federation	2016
34.	Sri Lanka	2016
35.	Sweden	2018
36.	Switzerland	2016
37.	Thailand	2018
38.	Turkey	2018
39.	Turkmenistan	2016
40.	Uganda	2018
41.	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	2018
42.	United States of America	2018
43.	Zambia	2016

States members of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development