CONFÉRENCE DES NATIONS UNIES SUR LE COMMERCE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT



UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT

DTL/STICT/MISC/2016/7 (15/248gd)

NOTIFICATION

Commission on Science and Technology for Development

Geneva, 23-25 January 2017

The Secretary-General of UNCTAD presents his compliments to, and has the honour to inform, Governments and the organizations concerned that the Commission on Science and Technology for Development will hold its 2016–2017 intersessional panel meeting in Geneva, from 23 to 25 January 2017.

The following two priority themes will be addressed:

- Theme 1: New innovation approaches to support the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals
- Theme 2: The role of science, technology and innovation in ensuring food security by 2030

In addition, the panel will examine issues related to the follow-up to the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society. Findings and recommendations of the panel are expected to be considered at the twentieth session of the Commission, to be held in May 2017.

UNCTAD will defray the travel and per diem costs of invited representatives of States members of the Commission. Representatives of States not members of the Commission are welcome to participate, based on the understanding that the cost of their attendance will be borne by their respective Governments. The membership of the Commission, as of 1 January 2017, is attached for reference.

Registration should be completed online. To do so, please use the following link: Commission on Science and Technology for Development.

Enquiries concerning preparations for the intersessional panel meeting of the Commission should be addressed to Ms. Dong Wu, Chief, Science and Technology Section, Division on Technology and Logistics; dong.wu@unctad.org, tel: 41 22 917 2083.

More information about the Commission is available at http://unctad.org/en/Pages/CSTD.aspx.

(signed)

Mukhisa Kituyi Secretary-General of UNCTAD 17 November 2016

States members of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development (as of 1 January 2017)

| | Members | Term expires on 31 December |
|-----|--|-----------------------------|
| 1. | Angola | 2018 |
| 2. | Austria | 2020 |
| 3. | Bolivia (Plurinational State of) | 2018 |
| 4. | Brazil | 2020 |
| 5. | Bulgaria | 2018 |
| 6. | Burkina Faso | 2020 |
| 7. | Cameroon | 2020 |
| 8. | Canada | 2018 |
| 9. | China | 2018 |
| 10. | Côte d'Ivoire | 2018 |
| | Cuba | 2018 |
| | Democratic Republic of the Congo | 2020 |
| | Dominican Republic | 2018 |
| | El Salvador | 2020 |
| 15. | Germany | 2020 |
| | Hungary | 2020 |
| 17. | India | 2018 |
| 18. | Iran (Islamic Republic of) | 2018 |
| 19. | Japan | 2020 |
| 20. | Kazakhstan | 2020 |
| 21. | Kenya | 2018 |
| | Latvia | 2018 |
| | Mauritania | 2018 |
| | Mauritius | 2018 |
| 25. | Nigeria | 2020 |
| | Pakistan | 2018 |
| | Peru | 2018 |
| | Poland | 2018 |
| | Portugal | 2020 |
| | Russian Federation | 2020 |
| | Saudi Arabia | 2020 |
| | Sweden | 2018 |
| | Switzerland | 2020 |
| | Thailand | 2018 |
| | Turkey | 2018 |
| | Turkmenistan | 2020 |
| | Uganda | 2018 |
| | United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland | 2018 |
| 39. | United States of America | 2018 |