

Tuesday, 22 May 2007

# **Economic and Social Council**

Commission on Science and Technology for Development, tenth session Geneva, 21-25 May 2007

## **PLENARY**

10 a.m 1 p.m	$3^{rd}$ meeting
3 - 6 p.m	4 <sup>th</sup> meeting
	Substantive theme: "Promoting the building of a people-centred, development-oriented and inclusive information society, with a view to enhancing digital opportunities for all people"
	Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) and Global Alliance for Information and Communications Technologies (GAID)
	Panel discussion on "Information and Communications Technologies (ICT) for Development – A follow up to the World

Summit on the Information Society

E/CN.16/2007/OD/2 GE.07-50857

#### **Summary**

21 May 2007

1st meeting

Opening of the session

Opening statements

The Chairman, H.E. Mr. Štefan Morávek (Slovakia), opened the session and made a statement.

The Secretary-General of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development addressed the Commission.

The following speakers addressed the Commission: H.E. Mr. Moritz Leuenberger, former President of Switzerland, Head of the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications of Switzerland, host country of the first phase of WSIS; H.E. Mr. Montasser Ouaili, Minister of Communication Technologies of Tunisia, host country of the second phase of WSIS; and H.E. Mr. Dušan Čaplovič, Deputy Prime Minister of the Government of Slovakia, for Knowledge-Based Society, European Affairs, Human Rights and Minorities.

Statements were made by Mr. Robert Aymar, Director-General of CERN; Mr. Houlin Zhao, Deputy Secretary-General of ITU; Mr. Abdul Waheed Khan, Assistant Director-General for Communication and Information, UNESCO; Mr. Tim Evans, Assistant Director-General - Information, Evidence and Research, WHO; Mr. Guy Sebban, Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce; and Ms. Anriette Esterhuysen, Secretary-General of the Association for Progressive Communications.

#### Election of officers

The Commission appointed Mr. Arnoldo Ventura (Jamaica), in addition to serving as Vice-Chairman, to serve also as Rapporteur of the tenth session of the Commission.

Adoption of the agenda and other organizational matters . . . . . [1]

The Commission adopted its provisional agenda and organization of work, as contained in document E/CN.16/2007/1.

Oral decision on the participation of NGOs and the civil society entities

The Commission decided that NGOs and civil society entities mentioned in Council decisions 2007/215 that were accredited to WSIS but do not have a consultative status with the ECOSOC, can participate in the work of the Commission in the tenth and eleventh sessions in accordance with the terms and conditions set out in that decision of the Council.

Oral decision on the participation of the business sector entities

The Commission decided that business sector entities including the private sector mentioned in Council decision 2007/216, can participate in the work of the CSTD in accordance with the rules of procedure of the Functional Commissions, on the understanding that this would not constitute a precedent for any other subsidiary of the Council or for any other organ in the Organization, as follows:

- make statements in plenary meetings during the general discussion following the statements made by the Member States and Observers:
- make statements during the panel discussions organized in accordance with the established UN practices, and
- make statements during informal consultations, when invited to participate in such consultations by the Commission.

#### 2nd meeting

#### Election of officers

The Commission elected H.E. Mr. Mothetjoa Metsing (Lesotho) to replace H.E. Mr. Motsoahe Thomas Thabane (Lesotho), who was unable to carry out his duties as Vice-Chairman of the tenth session of the Commission.

Substantive theme: "Promoting the building of a people-centred development-oriented and inclusive information society with a view to enhancing digital opportunities for all people". . . . . . . [2]

### Ministerial segment

The Commission heard introductory statements by the Chief of the Science and Technology Division of UNCTAD and by the representative of the ITU.

The Commission held a ministerial segment moderated by H.E. Mr. Jānis Kārklinš (Latvia).

Statements were made by H.E.Mr. Gaoussou Drabo, Minister of Communication and New Technologies of Mali; Mr. Ch. Nouraiz Shakoor Khan, Federal Minister of Science and Technology of Pakistan; H.E. Mothetjoa Metsing, Minister of Communications, Science and Technology of Lesotho; Mr. Cho ha Dato' Kong, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation of Malaysia; Ms. Ligia Amada Melo de Cardona, Secretary of State for Higher Education, Science and Technology of the Dominican Republic; Mr. Carlos Lisandro Salas, Secretary of State for Communications of Argentina; Mr. Hamid Shariari, Head of the Supreme Council for ICT of the Islamic Republic of Iran; Mr. Hilal AL-HINAI, Secretary-General, the Research Council of Oman; Mr. Balkrishna Prasai, Secretary of the Ministry of Environment, Science and Technology of, Nepal; Mr. Reno Harnish, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Bureau of Oceans, Environment and Scientific Affairs of the United States of America; and H.E. Mme Venetia Sebudandi, Permanent Representative of Rwanda to the United Nations Office in Geneva.

The Commission concluded its ministerial segment.

The Commission then began its general discussion and heard statements by the delegations of Honduras (on behalf of the Group of 77 and China), Brazil, Chile, Italy and Austria.