

# Economic and Social Council

Distr. LIMITED

E/CN.16/2008/L.1 27 May 2008

Original: ENGLISH

**Commission on Science and Technology for Development Eleventh session** Geneva, 26-30 May 2008 Agenda item 7 **Adoption of the report of the Commission on its eleventh session** 

## **Draft report**

Rapporteur: Mr. Mothetjoa METSING (Lesotho)

Chapter \_\_\_\_\_

Organization of the session

## A. Opening and duration of the session

1. The Commission on Science and Technology for Development held its eleventh session at the United Nations Office at Geneva from 26 to 30 May 2008. The Commission held \_\_\_\_\_ meetings (1st to \_\_\_\_).

2. The session was opened by the temporary Chairman, Mr.Mothetjoa Metsing (Lesotho), Vice-Chiarman of the Commission, who also made an opening statement.

3. Also at the 1<sup>st</sup> meeting, on 26 May, the Acting Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development addressed the Commission.

GE.08-51071

4. At the same meeting, the following speakers addressed the Commission: Dr. Hamadoun Touré, Secretary-General of the International Telecommunication Union; H.E. Mr. Mauro Dell'Ambrogio, State Secretary for Education and Research of Switzerland; Dr. Nina Federoff, Science and Technology Adviser to the United States Secretary of State; Mr. Subramanian Ramadorai, CEO and Managing Director, Tata Consulting Services, and Chair of the ICC BASIS Initiative; Ms. Zeinab El Bakri, Vice-President of the African Development Bank and Mr. Parminder Jeet Singh, a representative of IT for Change, Bangalore, India.

## Ministerial segment

Also at the same meeting, the Commission held a panel discussion on "Science, 5. technology and innovation, and follow-up to the World Summit on the Information Society", moderated by Art Reilly, Senior Director of CISCO Systems, who also made a statement. The following panellists made presentations: H.E. Mr. Raid Fahmi, Minister of Science and Technology, Iraq; H.E. Ms Ligia Amada Melo, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation of the Dominican Republic; H.E. Dr. Maximus J. Ongkili, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Malaysia; H.E. Mr. El Hadj Gley, Minister of Communication Technologies, Tunisia; Mr. Tariq Ur-Rahman, Chairman, Pakistan Council for Science and Technology; H.E. Mr. Mothetjoa Metsing, Minister of Communications, Science and Technology, Lesotho; H.E. Mr. Joachim Tankoano, Minister of Posts and Information and Communication Technologies, Burkina Faso; H.E Mr. Pedro Sebastiao Teta, Vice Minister of Science and Technology, Angola; H.E. Mr. Derek Hanekom, Deputy Minister of Science and Technology, South Africa; H.E. Mr. Fortunato Dela Pena, Under Secretary for Science and Technology, the Philippines; H.E. Mr. Anway Battikhi, Secretary-General, Higher Council for Science and Technology, Jordan.

- 6. The representative of the Sudan made a statement.
- 7. The Acting Deputy Secretary-General, UNCTAD made concluding remarks.

## **B.** Attendance

8. The session was attended by representatives of \_\_\_\_\_ States members of the Commission. Observers for other States Members of the United Nations, representatives of organizations of the United Nations system and representatives of intergovernmental, and non-governmental organizations, as well as representatives of civil society and business entities also attended. The list of participants for the session is contained in document E/CN.16/2008/INF/\_\_\_.

## C. Election of officers

9. At its 9th meeting of the tenth session, on 25 May 2007, the Commission had elected the following members of the Bureau of its eleventh session by acclamation:

E/CN.16/2008/L.1 page 3

Chairman:

Dato' Sri Jamuludin Jarjis (Malaysia)

Vice-Chairmen:

Juan Eduardo Eguiguren (Chile) Janis Karklins (Latvia) Mothetjoa Metsing (Lesotho) Bernd Michael Rode (Austria)

10. At its 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the eleventh session, on 26 May, the Commission elected H.E. Dr. Maximus J. Ongkili, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation of Malaysia, as Chairman of the eleventh session to replace H.E. Data' Sri Jamaludin Jarjis (Malaysia) who was not in a position to serve as Chairman.

11. At the same meeting, the Commission also elected Mr. Luciano Parodi of Chile to replace Mr. Juan Eduardo Eguiguren (Chile) who was unable to carry out his duties as Vice Chairman of the eleventh session.

12. At its 3<sup>rd</sup> meeting, on 27 May, the Commission appointed Mr. Mothetjoa Metsing (Lesotho), in addition to serving as Vice-Chairman, to serve also as Rapporteur of the eleventh session of the Commission.

## **D.** Agenda and organization of work

13. At its  $1^{st}$  meeting, on 26 May, the Commission adopted its provisional agenda and approved its organization of work, as contained in document E/CN.16/2008/1. The agenda read as follows:

- 1. Adoption of the agenda and other organizational matters
- 2. Progress made in the implementation of and follow-up to the World Summit on the Information Society outcomes at the regional and international levels
- 3. Priority themes:

(a) Development-oriented policies for a socio-economic inclusive information society, including access, infrastructure and an enabling environment

(b) Science, technology and engineering for innovation and capacity-building in education and research

4. Implementation of and progress made on decisions taken at the tenth session of the Commission

- 5. Election of the Chair and other officers for the twelfth session of the Commission
- 6. Provisional agenda and documentation for the twelfth session of the Commission
- 7. Adoption of the report of the Commission at its eleventh session