UNITED E



Economic and Social Council

Distr. LIMITED

E/CN.16/2003/L.2 6 May 2003

Original: ENGLISH

Commission on Science and Technology for Development

Sixth session
Geneva, 5-9 May 2003
Agenda item 10
Adoption of the report of the Commission on its sixth session

DRAFT REPORT

Rapporteur: Mr. Jesús Martínez-Frias (Spain)

Chapter ...

Organization of the session

A. Opening and duration of the session

- 1. The Commission on Science and Technology for Development held its sixth session at the United Nations Office at Geneva from 5 to 9 May 2003. The Commission held ... meetings (1st to ...).
- 2. The session was opened by the Chairman, Mr. Vijaya Kumar (Sri Lanka), who also made an opening statement.
- 3. At the 1st meeting, on 5 May, the Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development addressed the Commission.

4. At the same meeting, statements were made by the following keynote speakers who had been invited to address the Commission: Mr. José Maria Figueres, Chairman of the United Nations ICT Task Force; Professor Montasser Ouaili, Secretary of State in Charge of Informatics and the Internet, Tunisia; and Mr. Marc Furrer, Secretary of State and Director of the Swiss Federal Office for Communications.

B. Attendance

5. The session was attended by representatives of ... States members of the Commission. Observers for other States Members of the United Nations and for non-member States, representatives of organizations of the United Nations system and observers for intergovernmental, non-governmental and other organizations also attended. A list of participants is contained in annex

C. Election of officers

6. At the 6th meeting of its fifth session, on 31 May 2001, the Commission had elected the following members of the Bureau of its sixth session by acclamation:

Chairperson: Mr. Vijaya Kumar (Sri Lanka)

Vice-Chairmen: Mr. Pedro Sebastião Teta (Angola)

Mr. Sergio von Horoch (Paraguay)

Mr. Stefan Moravek (Slovakia)

Mr. Jesús Martínez-Frias (Spain)

- 7. At its 1st meeting, on 5 May 2003, the Commission elected by acclamation Mr. Joseph Cobbinah (Ghana) and Mr. Jorge Luis von Horoch (Paraguay) as Vice-Chairmen of its sixth session to replace Mr. Pedro Sebastião Teta (Angola) and Mr. Sergio von Horoch (Paraguay), who had resigned their posts.
- 8. At its 3rd meeting, on 6 May, the Commission designated Mr. Jesús Martínez-Frias (Spain) Vice-Chairman with rapporteurial responsibilities.

D. Agenda and organization of work

- 9. At its 1st meeting, on 5 May, the Commission adopted its provisional agenda, as contained in document E/CN.16/2003/1, and approved its organization of work, as contained in document E/CN.16/2003/L.1. The agenda read as follows:
 - 1. Adoption of the agenda and other organizational matters

- 2. Substantive theme: "Technology development and capacity-building for competitiveness in a digital society", with particular attention to information and communication technologies (ICTs) as pervasive technologies of global impact, wide application and growing potential. The theme will include: technology transfer, diffusion and capacity-building in ICTs for the purpose of enhancing competitiveness of developing countries and countries with economies in transition
- 3. Comprehensive note on implementation of and progress made on decisions taken at the fifth session of the Commission
- 4. Presentation of country reports on ICTs
- 5. Budget of the Commission
- 6. The functioning of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development, including its role in coordinating science and technology for development
- 7. Election of the Chairperson and other officers for the seventh session of the Commission
- 8. Provisional agenda and organization of work for the seventh session of the Commission
- 9. Other matters
- 10. Adoption of the report of the Commission on its sixth session.

E. Documentation

10. The documents before the Commission at its sixth session are listed in annex ...
