## CONFÉRENCE DES NATIONS UNIES SUR LE COMMERCE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT



UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT

DTL/STICT/MISC/2019/6 (19/168cc)

### NOTIFICATION

#### **Commission on Science and Technology for Development**

#### Geneva, 7-8 November 2019

The Secretary-General of UNCTAD presents his compliments to, and has the honour to inform, Governments and the organizations concerned that the Commission on Science and Technology for Development will hold its 2019–2020 intersessional panel meeting in Geneva, from 7 to 8 November 2019.

The following two priority themes will be addressed:

- Theme 1: Harnessing rapid technological change for inclusive and sustainable development
- Theme 2: Exploring space technologies for sustainable development and the benefits of international research collaboration in this context.

In addition, the panel will examine issues related to the follow-up to the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society. Findings and recommendations of the panel are expected to be considered at the twenty-third session of the Commission, to be held in March 2020.

UNCTAD will defray the travel and per diem costs of invited representatives of States members of the Commission. Representatives of States not members of the Commission are welcome to participate, based on the understanding that the cost of their attendance will be borne by their respective Governments. The membership of the Commission, as of 7 May 2019, is attached for reference.

Registration should be completed online. To do so, please use the following link: Commission on Science and Technology for Development.

Enquiries concerning preparations for the intersessional panel meeting of the Commission should be addressed to Mr. Angel González-Sanz, Chief, Science, Technology and ICT Branch, Division on Technology and Logistics: angel.gonzalez-sanz@un.org; tel.: 41 22 917 5508.

More information about the Commission is available at http://unctad.org/en/Pages/CSTD.aspx.

Junghisx Mituy

Mukhisa Kituyi Secretary-General of UNCTAD

12 September 2019

# States members of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development (as of 7 May 2019)

Members	Term expires
	on
1. Austria	2020
2. Belgium	2022
3. Botswana	2022
4. Brazil	2020
5. Burkina Faso	2020
6. Cameroon	2020
7. Canada	2022
8. Chile	2020
9. China	2022
10. Cuba	2022
11. Democratic Republic of the Congo	2020
12. Dominican Republic	2022
13. Ecuador	2022
14. Egypt	2022
15. El Salvador	2020
16. Ethiopia	2022
17. Finland	2020
18. Germany	2020
19. Hungary	2022
20. Iran (Islamic Republic of)	2022
21. Japan	2020
22. Kazakhstan	2020
23. Kenya	2022
24. Latvia	2022
25. Liberia	2022
26. Madagascar	2022
27. Mexico	2020
28. Nepal	2020
29. Nigeria	2022
30. Oman	2022
31. Portugal	2022
32. Romania	2022
33. Russian Federation	2022
34. Saudi Arabia	2020
34. Saudi Alabia 35. Serbia	2020
36. South Africa	2020
30. South Africa 37. Switzerland	2020
38. Thailand	2022
39. Turkey	2022
40. Turkmenistan	2020
41. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	2022
42. United States of America	2022