UNCTAD



JOURNAL of the Trade and Development Board

Fifty-first session, 4-15 October 2004

PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS Friday, 8 October 2004

10.00 a.m. **PLENARY (959th meeting)**

Salle XX

- Item 6 Review of developments and issues in the post-Doha work programme of particular concern to developing countries (TD/B/51/4; TD/397; and TD/B/51/CRP.1 (English only))
 - Opening remarks by Mr. Carlos Fortin, Officer-in-Charge of UNCTAD
 - Introduction of the item by Mrs. Lakshmi Puri, Director, Division of International Trade
 - Keynote Address by Dr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Director General, WTO
 - General debate

* * * * *

3.00 p.m. **PLENARY (960th meeting)**

Salle XX

- Item 6 Review of developments and issues in the post-Doha work programme of particular concern to developing countries (TD/B/51/4; TD/397; and TD/B/51/CRP.1 (English only))
 - General debate (continued)

* * * * *

TD/B/51/PROG.5 GE.04-52548

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS Monday, 11 October 2004

SESSIONAL COMMITTEE II

10.00 a.m. <u>Sessional Committee II – First meeting</u>

Salle XX

- <u>Item 5</u> Economic development in Africa: Issues relating to Africa's debt sustainability (TD/B/51/3, and Corr.1 (English Only); and UNCTAD/GDS/AFRICA/2004/1)
 - Introduction of item
 - General debate

* * * * *

3.00 p.m. <u>Sessional Committee II – Second Meeting</u>

Salle XXVI

Item 4- Economic development in Africa: Issues relating to Africa's debt sustainability (TD/B/51/3, and Corr.1 (English Only); and UNCTAD/GDS/AFRICA/2004/1)

DEBT AND DEVELOPMENT IN AFRICA

Panellists

Professor Ernest ARYEETEY

Director, Institute of Statistical, Social and Economic Research (ISSER), University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana

Ms. Ann PETTIFOR

Senior Associate, New Economics Foundation and Co-Founder of Jubilee 2000, London, United Kingdom

Professor Samuel WANGWE

Executive Director, Economic and Social Research Foundation (ESRF), Dar es Salaam, United Republic of Tanzania

* * * * *

BUREAU OF THE FIFTY-FIRST SESSION OF THE TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT BOARD

President: H. E. Ms. Mary WHELAN (Ireland)

Vice-Presidents:

Mr. Iouri AFANASSIEV (Russian Federation)

Mr. Luciano BARILLARO (Italy)
H.E. Mr. Doru Romulus COSTEA (Romania)
H.E. Ms. Sarala M. FERNANDO (Sri Lanka)
Mr. Kiminori IWAMA (Japan)

Ms. Melissa J. KEHOE (United States of America)

Mr. Ernesto MARTÍNEZ GONDRA (Argentina)
H.E. Mr. Jorge Ivan MORA GODOY (Cuba)
H.E. Mr. Love MTESA (Zambia)
Ms. Preeti SARAN (India)

Rapporteur: Mr. Patrick KRAPPIE (South Africa)

Sessional Committee I

Chairperson: H.E. Ms. Mary WHELAN (Ireland)

Sessional Committee II

Chairperson: H.E. Mr. Ousmane CAMARA (Senegal)

INFORMATION FOR PARTICIPANTS

Registration

Registration forms will be placed on the desks in Salle XX. It would be appreciated if delegations and observers would complete the forms before leaving the meeting.

Distribution of documents

The documents Distribution Counter is in the lobby on the second floor of the new building ("E" building, door 40).

Participants should bring with them pre-session documents, i.e. documents circulated prior to the opening of the session. Additional copies of pre-session documents may be available, stock permitting, at the Distribution Counter in the Conference Room.

Arrangements for regional group meetings

Requests for rooms for regional group meetings should be made to the UNCTAD Meetings and Credentials Unit (telephone extensions 75599/74446, Room E.3061).
