UNCTAD



JOURNAL of the Trade and Development Board

Fifty-third session,

27 September - 2 October & 10 October 2006

PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS Wednesday, 27 September 2006

10.00 a.m. PLENARY (984th meeting)

Room XX

Opening of the session

Item 1 Procedural matters

Item 1(a) Election of officers

Item 1(b) Adoption of the agenda and organization of the work of the session (TD/B/53/1)

- Statement by the Secretary-General of UNCTAD
- Statements by Regional Groups and individual member States
- Statement by Civil Society

<u>Item 5</u> Review of developments and issues in the Post-Doha work programme of particular concern to developing countries (TD/B/53/5)

- Statement by Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD
- Statement by Mr. Pascal Lamy, Director-General of WTO

* * * * *

2.00 p.m. Extended Bureau meeting

E. 8121

3.00 p.m. **PLENARY (985th meeting)**

Room XX

<u>Item 5</u> Review of developments and issues in the Post-Doha work programme of particular concern to developing countries (TD/B/53/5)

Debate (continued)

* * * * *

TD/B/53/PROG.1 GE.06- 51646

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS Thursday, 28 September 2006

10.00 a.m. **PLENARY (986th meeting)**

Room XX

Item 2 Interdependence and global economic issues from a trade and development perspective: Global partnership and national policies for development (UNCTAD/TDR/2006 & Overview)

- Introduction by Mr. Heiner Flassbeck Officer-in-Charge, DGDS
- Debate

* * * * *

3.00 p.m. **PLENARY (987th meeting)**

Room XXVI

- Item 3 Review of progress in the implementation of the Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the Decade 2001-2010 (TD/B/52/3)
 - (a) The Least Developed Countries Report 206: Developing Productive Capacities
 - (b) UNCTAD-wide implementation activities in favour of LDCs
 - Introduction by Mr. Habib Ouane, Director, Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes
 - Debate

Panellists on Item 3(a)

Mr. Mansour Cama

Président de la Confédération Nationale des Employeurs du Sénégal

Dr. Shankar Prasad Sharma

Advisor to the Management Development Centre, Management Association of Nepal

Mr. Jacques Loup, Economic Advisor

Agence Française de Développement (France)

Prof. Colin Kirkpatrick

University of Manchester (UK)

Debate on 3(a) and 3(b)

* * * * *

INFORMATION FOR PARTICIPANTS

Registration

Registration forms will be placed on the desks in Salle XX. It would be appreciated if delegations and observers would complete the forms before leaving the meeting.

Distribution of documents

The documents Distribution Counter is in the lobby on the second floor of the new building ("E" building, door 40).

Participants should bring with them pre-session documents, i.e. documents circulated prior to the opening of the session. Additional copies of pre-session documents may be available, stock permitting, at the Distribution Counter in the Conference Room.

Arrangements for regional group meetings

Requests for rooms for regional group meetings should be made to the UNCTAD Meetings and Credentials Unit (telephone extensions 75599/75497, Room E.3061).

* * * * *



JOURNAL of the Trade and Development Board Fifty-third session,

27 September - 2 October & 10 October 2006

SUMMARY OF MEETINGS Wednesday, 27 September 2006

984^{th} and 985^{th} Plenary Meetings

Opening of the session

The fifty-third session of the Board was opened by H.E. Mr. Gyan Chandra Acharya (Nepal), President of the fifty-second session of the Board.

The Board agreed to the request by Djibouti to become a member of the Board.

<u>Item 1</u> - <u>Procedural matters</u>

Item 1(a) - Election of officers

The Board elected by acclamation H.E. Mr. Mohamed Saleck Ould Mohamed Lemine (Mauritania) as the President of the Board.

The Board elected the following 10 Vice-Presidents:

H.E. Mr. Arsene BALIHUTA (Uganda)
H.E. Mr. Juan Antonio FERNÁNDEZ PALACIOS (Cuba)
H.E. Mr. Andrej LOGAR (Slovenia)
H.E. Mr. Juan Antonio MARCH (Spain)
H.E. M. Alex VAN MEEUWEN (Belgium)
Mr. Fredrik ARTHUR (Norway)

Ms. Lisa CARLE (United States of America)
Mr. Iouri AFANASSIEV (Russian Federation)
Mr. Mohammad Ali ZARIE ZARE (Islamic Republic of Iran)

Mr. Miguel BAUTISTA (Philippines)

The Board elected Ms. Ana Inés ROCANOVA (Uruguay) as its Rapporteur.

Following established practice, the Board agreed that the Regional Coordinators and China would be fully associated with the work of the Bureau of the Board.

TD/B/53/PROG.1/Add.1 GE-06-51649

<u>Item 1(b)</u> Adoption of the agenda and organization of the work of the session

The Board adopted its provisional agenda as contained in document TD/B/53/1.

Organization of work

The Board approved the organization of the work of the session and agreed that changes to the timetable would be reflected in the Daily Journal of the Board.

The Board agreed that all agenda items would be taken up in Plenary.

General statements

Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD, addressed the Board.

The following representatives made statements: Pakistan (on behalf of the Group of 77 and China); Argentina (on behalf the Latin American and Caribbean Group); Angola (on behalf of the African Group); Afghanistan (on behalf of the Asian Group), Finland (on behalf of the European Union and the acceding countries of Bulgaria and Romania); Belarus (on behalf of Group D); Benin (on behalf of the least developed countries); Switzerland; United States of America; Iraq; Djibouti; and Uganda Consumers' Protection Association (UCPA) (on behalf of civil society).

Item 5 Review of developments and issues in the post-Doha work programme of particular concern to developing countries

Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD, addressed the Board. Mr. Pascal Lamy, Director-General of the World Trade Organization, delivered opening remarks.

The following representatives made statements: Pakistan (on behalf of the Group of 77 and China); European Commission; Brazil; Mauritius; Kenya; Mexico; Canada; Egypt; Argentina; Malaysia; United States of America; Colombia; Sri Lanka; Australia; Chile; China; Indonesia; Japan; Philippines; Azerbaijan; Benin; Russian Federation; Republic of Moldova; Belarus; Islamic Republic of Iran; United Republic of Tanzania; Norway; Bangladesh; Angola (on behalf of the African Group); African Union; and Third World Network.

* * * * *