

# J OURNAL of the Trade and Development Board Fifty-fifth session 15–26 September 2008

No. 8

# PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS

Wednesday, 24 September 2008

10 a.m. Sessional Committee I - informal meeting

Room XXVI

- Item 4 Review of progress in the implementation of the Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the Decade 2001–2010 (continued)
  - Consideration of draft agreed conclusions

1 p.m. - 3 p.m.

Lunchtime briefing on *International Partnerships for Sustainable Development*, with a focus on two international partnerships for sustainable development: UNEP-UNCTAD Capacity Building Task Force on Trade, Environment and Development (CBTF); and UNCTAD-FAO-IFOAM International Task Force on Harmonization and Equivalence in Organic Agriculture (ITF).

Room XXVI

3 p.m. **1029**<sup>th</sup> plenary meeting

Room XXVI

- Item 8 Investment for development: transnational corporations, infrastructure and development (TD/B/55/5)
  - Opening statement by Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD
  - Introduction by Ms. Anne Miroux, Head, Investment Analysis Branch
  - Panel discussion on investment in infrastructure

#### **Panellists:**

- Mr. Thomas Scott, Development Bank of Southern Africa
- Mr. Geoffrey Hamilton, Economic Cooperation and Integration Division, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

Followed by

Interactive debate

## FORTHCOMING MEETINGS Thursday, 25 September 2008

10 a.m. Sessional Committee I - informal meeting

Room XXVI

- Item 4 Review of progress in the implementation of the Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the Decade 2001–2010 (continued)
  - Consideration of draft agreed conclusions

3 p.m. Sessional Committee II - informal meeting

Room XXVI

- Item 5 Economic development in Africa: Trade liberalization and export performance in Africa (continued)
  - Consideration of draft agreed conclusions

## Bureau of the fifty-fifth session of the Trade and Development Board

**President** H.E. Mr. Debapriya BHATTACHARYA (Bangladesh)

**Vice-presidents** 

H.E. Mr. Arcanjo Maria DO NASCIMENTO (Angola)
 H.E. Mr. Alberto DUMONT (Argentina)
 Mr. Paulo ESTIVALLET DE MESQUITA (Brazil)

H.E. Mr. Tomáš HUSÁK (Czech Republic)

Mr. Christophe GUILHOU (France)
H.E. Mr. Kwabena BAAH-DUODU (Ghana)
H.E. Mr. Masood KHAN (Pakistan)

Mr. Vassily NEBENZIA (Russian Federation)

H.E. Mr. Javier GARRIGUES (Spain)

Mr. Otto VAN MAERSSEN (United States of

America)

Rapporteur Ms. Andriani FALKONAKI SOTIROPOULOS (Greece)

**Sessional Committee I** 

Chair H.E. Mr. Jean FEYDER (Luxembourg)

Vice-Chair-cum-Rapporteur Mr. Ravi Bhattarai (Nepal)

**Sessional Committee II** 

Chair H.E. Mr. Kwabena BAAH-DUODU (Ghana)

Vice-Chair-cum-Rapporteur Mr. Joannes Ekaprasetya (Indonesia)

**TANDJUNG** 

### **Information for participants**

#### Registration

Registration forms will be placed on the desks in room XVIII. It would be appreciated if delegations and observers would complete the forms before leaving the meeting.

#### **Distribution of documents**

The documents distribution counter is in the lobby on the second floor of the E-building (door 40).

Participants should bring with them pre-session documents, i.e. documents circulated prior to the opening of the session. Additional copies of pre-session documents may be available, stock permitting, at the distribution counter in the conference room.

#### Arrangements for regional group meetings

Requests for rooms for regional group meetings should be made to the UNCTAD Meetings and Credentials Unit (*ext.* 75599/75497, office E.3061).

#### **Statements**

Delegates are invited to send electronic versions of their statements for posting on the web to <a href="mailto:editorialsection@unctad.org">editorialsection@unctad.org</a>. The statements will be made available in the form and language in which they are submitted.

#### **Audio files**

Audio files (floor/English) of general statements and statements made at the high-level segment are now available on the UNCTAD website (<a href="www.unctad.org">www.unctad.org</a>). Under the "Meetings" tab, you will find a link to the Programme of the Trade and Development Board at its fifty-fifth session, where there are quick links to MP3 (audio) files.

#### Announcements by delegations

The Group of 77 will meet on Wednesday, 24 September, at 9 a.m. in Room XXVI.

\_\_\_\_



#### **SUMMARY OF MEETINGS**

Wednesday, 24 September 2008

#### Sessional Committee I - first informal meeting

# Item 4 Review of progress in the implementation of the Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the Decade 2001–2010 (continued)

The meeting was chaired by H.E. Mr. Jean Feyder (Luxembourg), Chair of Sessional Committee I.

Mr. Habib Ouane, Director of the Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes, introduced the draft agreed conclusions.

Sessional Committee I began its consideration of its draft agreed conclusions.

# 1028th plenary meeting

The meeting was chaired by H.E. Mr. Debapriya Bhattacharya (Bangladesh), President of the Trade and Development Board.

# Item 8 Investment for development: transnational corporations, infrastructure and development (TD/B/55/5)

Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD, addressed the Board.

Ms. Anne Miroux, Head, Investment Analysis Branch, made an introductory statement.

This was followed by presentations from the following keynote speakers: Mr. Thomas Scott, Development Bank of Southern Africa; and Mr. Geoffrey Hamilton, Economic Cooperation and Integration Division, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe.

H.E. Mr. Muhamad Noor Yacob (Malaysia), Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the WTO, made a presentation.

During the interactive debate, representatives of the following member States took the floor: Zimbabwe (on behalf of the Group of 77 and China); Peru (on behalf of the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States); Indonesia (on behalf of the Asian Group); France (on behalf of the European Union); European Commission; Bangladesh (on behalf of the least developed countries); China; Japan; Islamic Republic of Iran; Philippines; and Thailand.

Mr. Thomas Scott, Mr. Geoffrey Hamilton and the secretariat responded to questions and comments.

The President of the Board made concluding remarks.

TD/B/55/PROG.8/Add.1 GE.08-51724