UNITED TD NATIONS



United Nations
Conference
on Trade and
Development

Distr. GENERAL

TD/COCOA.9/10 2 July 2003

Original: ENGLISH

Meeting convened pursuant to article 58, paragraph 3, of the International Cocoa Agreement, 2001

London, 4 June 2003

# DECISION OF THE MEETING CONVENED PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 58, PARAGRAPH 3, OF THE INTERNATIONAL COCOA AGREEMENT, 2001

The Governments of the States, and the European Community, listed in annex I to the present decision,

Acting pursuant to article 58, paragraph 3, of the International Cocoa Agreement, 2001,

Having met in London on 4 June 2003,

Having accepted that the European Community can approve the Agreement,

Noting that the Governments of six producing countries, accounting for 72.1% of votes as set out in Annex A to the Agreement, and the Governments of consuming countries comprising the European Community and three others accounting for 60.05% of votes, as set out in annex B to the Agreement, have deposited their instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession, or have notified the depositary that they will apply the Agreement provisionally when it enters into force,

- 1. <u>Decide</u> to put the International Cocoa Agreement, 2001, into force provisionally among themselves in whole as of 1 October 2003;
- 2. <u>Decide also</u> that any State listed in annex II and any other State which, by 30 September 2003, deposits its instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession, or notifies the depositary that it will apply the Agreement provisionally when it enters into force, shall be deemed to be listed in annex I to the present decision.

#### Annex I

### **INTERNATIONAL COCOA AGREEMENT, 2001**

### **Exporting Members**

Côte d'Ivoire

Gabon

Ghana

Malaysia

Nigeria

Togo

## **Importing Members**

#### **European Community**

Austria

Belgium/Luxembourg

Denmark

Finland

France

Germany

Greece

Ireland

Italy

Netherlands

Portugal

Spain

Sweden

United Kingdom

#### Non-members of the European Community

Russian Federation

Slovak Republic

Switzerland

### Annex II

## INTERNATIONAL COCOA AGREEMENT, 2001

Brazil Cameroon Dominican Republic