UNITED NATIONS TD



United Nations
Conference
on Trade and
Development

Distr. LIMITED

TD/L.377 16 June 2004

Original: ENGLISH

Eleventh session São Paulo, 13–18 June 2004

DRAFT REPORT OF THE UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT AT ITS ELEVENTH SESSION

held at São Paulo, Brazil, from 13 to 18 June 2004

Rapporteur: Mr. François Leger (France)

ORGANIZATIONAL AND PROCEDURAL MATTERS

A. Opening of the Conference

(Agenda item 1)

- 1. The inaugural ceremony of the eleventh session of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development was held on 14 June 2004. Welcoming remarks were made by Mrs. Marta Suplicy, Mayor of São Paulo, and Mr. Geraldo Alckmin, Governor of São Paulo State. Opening statements were made by H.E. Mr Thaksin Shinawatra, Prime Minister of Thailand, host country for UNCTAD X; H.E. Mr. Kofi Annan, Secretary-General of the United Nations; H.E. Mr. Julian Hunte, President of the United Nations General Assembly; and H.E. Mr. Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, President of Brazil. Mr. Rubens Ricupero, Secretary-General of UNCTAD, paid tribute to Professor Celso Furtado of Brazil.
- 2. At the opening plenary, also held on 14 June 2004, statements were made by H.E. Dr. Surakiart Sathirathai, Foreign Minister of Thailand, host country for UNCTAD X; H.E. Mr. Celso Amorim, Foreign Minister of Brazil and President of UNCTAD XI; Mr. Rubens Ricupero, Secretary-General of UNCTAD; and Dr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Director-General of WTO.

B. Election of the President

(Agenda item 2)

3. At its 265th (opening) plenary meeting, on 14 June 2004, the Conference elected by acclamation as its President H.E. Mr. Celso Amorim, Foreign Minister of Brazil.

C. Establishment of sessional bodies

(Agenda item 3)

4. At its 265th meeting, the Conference decided to establish a Committee of the Whole to consider and report on the specific substantive item referred to it by the plenary (agenda item 8). In line with rule 63 of the rules of procedure, the Committee of the Whole would set up such drafting groups as might be required to carry out its function.

D. Election of Vice-Presidents and the Rapporteur

(Agenda item 4)

5. At the same meeting, the Conference decided that its Bureau would consist of 35 members, comprising the President, the Vice-Presidents, the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, and the Rapporteur of the Conference. It further decided that the composition of the Bureau should be such as to ensure equitable geographical distribution, i.e. seven members from Africa, seven from Asia, seven from Latin America and the Caribbean, nine from Group B, four from Group D, and China. It waived rule 58 of the rules of procedure concerning procedures for the election of members of the Bureau, and it declared the following officers elected:

Chairman of the Committee of the Whole:

Mr. Zukang Sha (China)

Vice-Presidents:

Mr. Kerrie Symmonds (Barbados)
Mr. Sergei Aleinik (Belarus)
Mr. Petko Draganov (Bulgaria)
Mr. Raúl de la Nuez Ramirez (Cuba)

Mr. Miroslav Somol (Czech Republic)

Mr. Paul Biyoghe Mba (Gabon) Mr. Tassos Anastassios Kriekoukis (Greece) Mr. Kamal Nath (India) Mr. Tom Kitt (Ireland) Mr. Keith D. Knight (Jamaica) Mr. Ryuichiro Yamazaki (Japan) Mr. Mukhisa Kituyi (Kenya) Mr. Choguel Kohalla Maiga (Mali) Mr. Mustapha Mechahouri (Morocco) Mr. Gyan Chandra Acharya (Nepal)

Mr. Jan de Jong
Mr. Adamu Danjuma Idris Waziri
Mr. Bjørn Skogmo
Mr. Ali Al-Sunaidy
Mr. Abdul Hafeez Shaikh
Mrs. Leila Rachid de Cowles
Mr. David Waisman

(Netherlands)
(Nigeria)
(Norway)
(Panaguay)
(Pakistan)
(Paraguay)

Mr. Enrique A. Manalo (Philippines)

Mr. Vladimir I. Tkachenko (Russian Federation)

Mrs. Awa Gueye Kebe (Senegal)
Mr. Jeyarai Fernandopulle (Sri Lanka)
Mr. Pierre-Louis Girard (Switzerland)
Mr. Surakiart Sathirathai (Thailand)

Ms. Elaine Drage (United Kingdom of Great

Britain and Northern Ireland)

Mr. Richard T. Miller (United States of America)

Mr. Jesús Arnaldo Pérez (Venezuela) Mr. K.V. Manyonda (Zimbabwe)

Rapporteur:

Mr. François Leger (France)

6. In accordance with past practice, the Conference decided that the coordinators of regional groups would be fully associated with the work of the Bureau.

E. Credentials of representatives to the Conference

(Agenda item 5)

Appointment of the Credentials Committee

7. At its 265th meeting on 14 June 2004, in accordance with rule 14 of the rules of procedure, the Conference established a Credentials Committee consisting of nine members. In accordance with past practice, the Committee was to be composed of the same nine States as appointed by the General Assembly to serve on the Credentials Committee at its fifty-eighth session, but if any of the States in question were not represented at the Conference, the regional group concerned would be requested to nominate a replacement. The composition of the Credentials Committee was thus as follows: Cape Verde, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ethiopia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Russian Federation and the United States of America. The Committee was chaired by Myanmar.

F. Adoption of the agenda

(Agenda item 6)

8. At its 265th meeting, on 14 June 2004, the Conference adopted the provisional agenda for its eleventh session (TD/391). (For the agenda as adopted, see annex I.)