Civil Society Forum: Day 1


22 septiembre 2021
14:30 - 17:35 hrs. (CEST) / 08:30-11:35 hrs. (AST)
Virtual Conference Centre, Frangipani Auditorium

 

14:30–14:55 (CEST)
08:30–08:55 (AST)

High-level Opening

 

Watch opening address by Mia Amor Mottley

Speakers

  • The Honorable Mia Amor Mottley, Prime Minister of Barbados
  • Ms. Rebeca Grynspan, Secretary-General of UNCTAD
  • The Honorable Colin E. Jordan, Minister of Labour, Social Partnership Relations and the Third Sector, Barbados

15:00–15:15 (CEST)
09:00–09:15 (AST)

Introduction and Overview of the Civil Society Forum Agenda, Objectives and Protocols

Speaker

  • Mr. Richard Jones, Caribbean Policy Development Centre, Barbados, UNCTAD 15 Host country Civil Society Organization for the Civil Society Forum

15:20–17:35 (CEST)
09:20–11:35 (AST)

The crisis of multilateralism – UNCTAD rediscovering its original mandate to confront key challenges of the global south

The plenary session will seek to discuss UNCTAD’s mandate and role in the context of today’s conjuncture and its ability to confront current challenges, particularly those facing the global South, including:

  • The need for re-balancing of the current global division of labor and advancing socio-economic transformation;
  • Advancing the climate/ecological transition
  • Advancing the transition towards a feminist care economy; and
  • Confronting the techno-structural aspects of digitalization.

Speakers

  • Mr. Tetteh Hormeku-Ajei, Head of Programmes, Third World Network-Africa
  • Ms. Diyana Yahaya, Gender and Trade Coalition
  • Mr. Alvin Mosioma, Executive Director, Tax Justice Network Africa
  • Ms. Kai-Ann Skeete, The University of the West Indies
  • Ms. Anita Gurumurthy,Executive Director, IT for Change
  • Mr. Daniel Bertossa, Assistant General Secretary, Public Services International

Moderator

  • Mr. Stephen Fletcher

Closing

  • Ms. Kozel Peters-Frazer, Member of the International Civil Society Facilitation Committee of the UNCTAD15 Civil Society Forum

 

Watch recording of Day 1

 

There is some issue in accessing document path, Please contact to Site Admin

There is some issue in accessing document path, Please contact to Site Admin



languages

Idioma(s)

English  |  Français  |  Español  |