MACHINE NAME = WEB 1

Webinar on Opening green windows: Technological opportunities for a low-carbon world - The role of green industrial policies


Webinar on Opening green windows: Technological opportunities for a low-carbon world - The role of green industrial policies
05 June 2023
14:30 - 16:00 hrs. (CEST)/13:30 – 15:00 (BST)
Online

The world is facing pressing social and economic challenges of unprecedented nature. Hovering over this conjuncture is the climate crisis. As of 2023, carbon emissions are at a record high, reflecting historical growth patterns sourced by fossil fuels and a lack of political will to transition towards renewable energies. Governments are facing complex trade-offs between promoting inclusive economic growth and mitigating climate change.

Green technologies offer transformative solutions to achieve this dual goal. Green technologies are usually associated with renewable energy technologies but also include the strategic use of traditional and new digital technologies like blockchain, artificial intelligence, and the Internet of Things. They enable cleaner and more efficient production, thus creating a synergy between economic development and climate change mitigation.

Green transformation, supported by frontier technologies, offers a viable route for developing countries to claim agency in their own development narrative and move from crisis to sustainable development. To benefit from the green technology revolution, strong government efforts are needed to take strategic, long-term action to build innovation and technological capacities to spur sustainable economic growth and increase their resilience to future crises.

Objective

This webinar co-organized by UNCTAD and SOAS University of London presented UNCTAD's Technology and Innovation Report 2023, followed by a panel discussion by experts. The discussion focused on the economic development potential related to green technologies and the role of green industrial policies to foster their growth and cover the gap between developed and developing economies. The event served as a platform for peer learning and awareness raising of policy options to harness the frontier technologies to achieve the dual goal of economic growth and environmental sustainability.

 

Programme

 

13:30 – 13:40 (BST)/14:30 – 14:40 (CEST) Opening remarks 

  • Angel Gonzalez-Sanz, Head of the Technology, Innovation and Knowledge Development Branch, UNCTAD
  • Antonio Andreoni, Professor, SOAS University of London

13:40 – 13:50 (BST)/14:40 – 14:50 (CEST) Presentation

  • Technology and Innovation Report 2023 – Clovis Freire Junior, Team Leader of the Technology and Innovation Report 2023, UNCTAD

13:50 – 14:40 (BST)/14:50 – 15:40 (CEST) A roundtable discussion

Chaired by Antonio Andreoni, Professor, SOAS University of London with:

  • Ha-Joon Chang, Professor, SOAS University of London
  • Fiona Tregenna, Professor, University of Johannesburg
  • Rasmus Lema, Associate Professor, UNU-MERIT

14:40 – 14:55 (BST)/15:40 – 15:55 (CEST) Q&A

14:55 – 15:00 (BST)/15:55 – 16:00 (CEST) Closing by chair of the session

Sort by:  Symbol  |  Title  |  Date  |  Agenda item

Opening Green Windows: Technological opportunities for a low-carbon world
(UNCTAD/TIR/2022) -  16 Mar 2023
 
Co-organizer(s):
SOAS University of London

languages
Language(s)
English  |    

Related

Topic

Science, technology and innovation Science, technology and innovation

Contact

Fabianna Bacil
Technology, Innovation and Knowledge Development Branch
Division on Technology and Logistics
E-mail: Fabianna.bacillourencoferreira@un.org