The Enhanced Integrated Framework: Supporting LDCs in tackling constraints to trade

UNCTAD provides multilateral technical cooperation through the Enhanced Integrated Framework (EIF), a multi-donor programme, that assists the least developed countries (LDCs) in their efforts to build productive capacities and play a more active role in the global trading system.

The EIF is supported by six core partner agencies, namely UNCTAD, ITC, UNDP, the IMF, the World Bank and the WTO. UNIDO and the UNWTO participate as observer agencies.

The main objectives of the EIF are to:

  • Mainstream trade into national development strategies.

  • Establish national structures to coordinate the delivery of trade-related technical assistance.

  • Build capacity to trade, which also includes addressing critical supply-side constraints.

Enhanced Integrated Framework  

Technical assistance through the EIF can take various forms, such as:

  • The elaboration of Diagnostic Trade Integration Studies (DTIS)

  • The drafting of trade policies for mainstreaming trade into developments plans.

  • The preparation of medium-term plans.

UNCTAD implements EIF Tier 2 projects to support productive capacity building at national and regional levels.



Page 3 of 2, items 11 to 10 of 10


 Events and Meetings


 Documents and Publictions


Tab Control

Please wait....